Autumn Meets Winter

My last post was pretty negative about the whole situation with the snowstorm, since the blackout was definitely not very fun. But having a snowstorm in the middle of autumn also provided some beautiful and astonishing scenery. It was very unexpected to see flashes of gold, red, yellow and orange peeking out through the white carpet that covered every branch, leaf and patch of grass. Obviously I couldn’t help but take lots of pictures, so I figured I’d share some of them with you, to share the good side of the snowstorm too.

Hope you enjoy and please feel free to comment or share any of your pictures.

The pumpkins were confused...
I loved seeing the flash of orange under all that snow!
The snow was definitely piling on at this point...but the branches hadn't started breaking - yet.
Still before disaster struck - branches were still up, power was still on. Although I had to admit, whether with or without power, the sight was beautiful.
The colors were even more stunning the next day - most of the snow had melted off the trees, but just enough was left to make such a beautiful contrast between autumn and winter. And that gorgeous blue sky was the perfect backdrop.
The fiery colored leaves on the white, crisp snow was definitely one of my favorite sights. It was such an odd and unexpected mix, but truly lovely.
Couldn't help taking a close-up! Really, really loved those gorgeous autumn leaves on the fresh snow. The storm caused a lot of damage, and the blackout was pretty awful, but it also made some beautiful and rare scenery that we were lucky to see.

16 thoughts on “Autumn Meets Winter

  1. The 4th image down looks like a painting… maybe this is due to the colours. Truly beautiful images here.

    Hope the pumpkins settled after their confusion, I’m sure it was the first time they had seen snow

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind comments; I’m happy you liked the photos! The pumpkins eventually settled down, although they did seem fascinated by such a strange sight. Thanks for asking 😉

      Like

    1. The beauty outside helped make the blackout (somewhat) bearable! Thankfully the weather was gorgeous during the week of the blackout, so at least we had sunshine and blue sky! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks, I’m happy you like them! I just had to post that pumpkin one, it cracked me up. 🙂 I figured you’d understand the lack of positive outlook, especially as the days without power started adding up…So nice to be able to turn the lights on and off, and to take a hot shower!!

      Like

    1. Thank you for your truly kind comments. It means a lot to me that you enjoy the pictures I post, and I’m more than happy to share some of the beauty I’m so lucky to see and capture.

      Like

    1. Thanks for your comment 🙂 I’m happy you liked the pictures. It’s definitely not something you normally see – it was really unexpected, so I wanted to capture it! I love all 4 seasons, so I’m happy I get a good dose of each one here, especially since in some places we lived there definitely were NOT all the seasons. You’re in a warm climate, I’ll guess, since you don’t get snow?

      Like

    1. I know exactly what you mean! When there are days like that outside nothing is nicer than being warm and cozy at home! Thanks for stopping by and commenting, I really appreciate it 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment