The Return of the Third Culture Kid

It’s been a long time since my last post, as things suddenly got pretty busy. I’ve been working on some other projects, but more importantly I was spending time with my family and attending my brother’s high-school graduation.

I’ve also had the chance to do some thinking about my blog, how it’s evolved and what I really want to do with it. I started this blog to write about and share my third culture kid experiences and memories. Over time it evolved to include a lot of nature photography, some poetry and texts about daily observations… I love doing those posts, and I will continue to do some, but I’ve realized that I really want to get back to the initial goal of this blog. I really want to get back to writing about my expat/TCK experiences and I want to share more of my memories.

I know that I recently posted about wanting to write more, and I guess this is just the natural evolution of my thoughts. There have been several things these past weeks that have reminded me of why I started this blog and how much I love being a third culture kid. My brother graduated from the same high-school as me, where teachers and students alike are third culture kids and expats. It’s a place that makes me happy, where I feel like I belong. Being back there, coupled with many conversations I’ve had lately – with my husband, my family and fellow TCKs – brought me back to the original source of this blog and filled me with a renewed vigor to write about my third culture kid life.

I know this post is short, but please consider this as both an apology for my long absence and an introduction for what’s to come. I hope you’ll stay along for the journey!

Third culture kid, back and better than ever, signing off!

3 thoughts on “The Return of the Third Culture Kid

  1. Once a TCK, always a TCK! it was so great seeing you at Graduation- married life clearly suits you! I don’t know if you’ve seen the IB results yet but they are very good and although I didn’t look at Rawi’s specifically I bet they’re terrific!
    I think there are times in life when TCKness is more prominent than others, and coming back to ASP would trigger that. I know for me an international school setting is just heavenly as it really feels familiar, but it took me a while to realize this as I just assumed that I’d fit in anywhere just fine (and I did) but not with the same level of comfort.
    Have a great summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

