Published Book Review and Thank You

It’s been a great week for me as a writer – first my article was published yesterday in Global Living Magazine and today my book review on Expat Arrivals was published!

The book review is about Valerie Besanceney‘s wonderful book B at Home: Emma Moves Again, which is a must-read for Third Culture Kids, their parents and teachers. It is especially directed at younger TCKs, but I think even adults would greatly benefit from it. I know that I saw myself in the story and I could really feel Emma’s emotions. It is a fantastic book that I would highly recommend to anyone working with TCKs.


This is again going to be a short post to share my publishings, but I did want to thank everyone who has ever taken the time to read my blog. The comments I’ve gotten here have always encouraged and motivated me. Without this blog I don’t think I would have been ready to tackle the writing residency I am currently doing and I probably wouldn’t have been prepared to publish articles either.

This blog was my first real opportunity to pursue my passion and I’m grateful to everyone who has taken the time to read and comment. You’ve helped make my dream of being a writer come true, because you made me feel that what I wrote mattered. That has always been humbling and inspiring.

So, a very heartfelt thank you and I hope you’ll stick around for more!

11 thoughts on “Published Book Review and Thank You

    1. Grazie, Cri! That means so much to me 🙂 I truly believe it’s so important that we support one another because we understand the need/love for writing and we share the same dreams 🙂

      Like

  1. I echo Cri- I’m the one thanking you for your posts, Dounia! They are always such a pleasure to read and make me think about things I haven’t thought about before, or evoke memories I like to re-live. I’m also happy to know about this big TCK community out there: although I’ve never suffered of loneliness from being a TCK I do like to know we are a little bit special. Bravo for getting the recognition you deserve!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Anne! That means a lot to me 🙂 It’s been wonderful getting to know more about our TCK community and all the ways in which people contribute to getting the word out about us! I think you would have loved the conference I attended!

      Like

      1. You are so right, I think I would indeed have loved the conference! Maybe there’ll be a Paris event someday!

        Like

  2. I haven’t been active in the blogging sphere for quite a while, due to a bunch of random things. However, now that I’m making the rounds, I realized I never congratulated you on your achievements! 1000, 1000 mabrouk on getting your article and book review published—I’m so happy for you, Dounia!! Keep it up!!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Hala!! 🙂 I really appreciate it and I love that you’ve commented on a bunch of my posts too – I’ll make sure to reply to each and every one! By the way, mabrouk to you on your new job too! I hope you’re enjoying it and hopefully not freezing too much in that arctic office of yours… 😉

      Like

      1. Thank you, Allah barik feeki 🙂 I am enjoying my job so far, which is great. Today the office is still cold but not as bad as before. It refuses to stabilize, haha. I’ve taken to bringing a jacket with me just to keep from zoning out from the cold. (Damned central AC’s!)

        I just read through all your replies with the biggest (almost goofy) smile on my face. You’re so freaking sweet, and your comments and replies make me so happy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

