Summer Loving

I’m happy that autumn is approaching, as I’m ready for the cooler temperatures, the brightly colored leaves, snuggling under blankets and drinking hot chocolate… But I loved the summer and all it entailed this year – road trips, air trips, beaches, champagne, exploring new places and fondly re-discovering childhood ones, burgers and shandy, lots of family, lots of laughter and lots of love…

… And also a wedding celebrated among wildflowers and butterflies. Although the scenery was beautiful, it was the love and celebration that really made this special. Since it was a cousin getting married, it meant lots of family, which is the best way to go. Lots of family means LOTS of fun, laughter, great conversations and most importantly love. It always feels so good to be surrounded by family and I feel so lucky to have them all, no matter where we are in the world.

 

… Beautiful views of Vermont on our drive back from Montreal, after visiting some cousins and my grandma. It was a wonderful, memory-filled weekend, visiting places I hadn’t seen in 12 years and that were a huge part of my childhood. We reminisced about all the mischief we managed growing up, and I got to show my husband some places that are very special to me. It reminded me yet again how lucky I am to have this amazing and close-knit family, despite the distances that separate us…

… And then there was the extra-special trip of the year: our honeymoon in St. Croix. We had much to celebrate – 10 years of being together, 2 years of marriage, and the honeymoon itself – and we made sure to enjoy every minute! From the warm Caribbean Sea, to sunset shows; from a day out on the catamaran to snorkel in the most pristine water, seeing rays, turtles and barracudas (not to mention all the other amazing sealife!), to dancing on the terrace after dinner… It was simply amazing and we made memories to last us a lifetime…

Until next year summer…

8 thoughts on “Summer Loving

  1. Oh this makes me dream of holidays and we only just resumed work!! Where is St Croix? It looks fabulous!!! Thanks for putting those wonderful pictures up!

    Like

    1. Oh I know, it makes me dream of holidays when I see the pictures again!! St. Croix is in the Caribbean, in the U.S. Virgin Islands (very close to Puerto Rico); it was beautiful! I’m really happy you enjoyed these, even if they make going back to work more difficult! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for commenting and I hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. What light in your sailboat photo! All of the photos are gorgeous, of course, but that one is strikingly beautiful. Glad you enjoyed the summer – now, onto the changing leaves of autumn!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Cortney! That means a lot coming from you – I admire your beautiful photography so much! And I agree, summer was great, but now I’m waiting for the gorgeous autumn colors! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Aaaahhhh, I love summer. My fav memories are wrapped around summer! Wonderful post, and just great pictures. Wonderful photo composition.

    Karen

    Like

    1. Thanks, Karen! Summer does hold a lot of great memories and it was fun to go through the pictures again ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m really happy you liked them and thanks again for commenting!

      Like

  4. How did you get such fabulous pictures of those butterflies? Wow. You are quite talented. What a fun photo trip down summer’s memory lane. Fall is my favorite season, though, so I’m quite happy to feel this chill in the air!

    Like

    1. The butterflies made it easy – they didn’t fly away and they were so beautiful! ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree with you about fall though and I’m definitely looking forward to enjoying all the autumn beauty! I love all the seasons, but fall has something special about it… Thanks for your lovely comment and enjoy the arrival of autumn!

      Like

Leave a Reply

